Login NowClose 
Sign In to h-ponline.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Public officials take their oath's of office

1 / 3
SMITH: Circuit Court Judge Gavin Smith takes his oath, during the ceremony on Dec. 31.
2 / 3
RICHISON: Richison swears in for her fourth term as Huntington County Prosecuting Attorney.
3 / 3
LANDRUM: Jill Landrum takes her oath to become Huntington County Auditor.

by Andrew Maciejewski - amaciejewski@h-ponline.com

Public officials took their oath of office last week to begin their terms in Huntington County, after winning election in November of 2018.

Huntington County Prosecuting Attorney Amy Richison was sworn in for another term and has served in the position since 2007. Richison was a Huntington North High School graduate of 1989, and received her undergraduate degree in psychology with a minor in Spanish from Indiana University in 1993 before earning her law degree from the university in 1996.

During the meeting, Richison shared kind words for Circuit Court Judge Davin Smith, vouching for his character since they knew each other while studying at Indiana University.

Smith graduated from the Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business in 2000 and from Indiana University School of Law in Indianapolis in 2003. He joined Brewer Garett & Wiley, of Huntington, practicing in estate planning, personal injury, arbitration and mediation along with business, criminal, family, real estate and agricultural law, according to information uploaded to Justia.

Before former Circuit Court Judge Jamie Groves left office, he endorsed Smith’s skills and ability to serve as circuit court judge. Groves said Smith approves of the recently opened Veterans Court, and Groves worked closely with Smith during the transition to ensure department budgets and staffing aligned with Smith’s vision for the court. 

Former Huntington County Clerk Kittie Keiffer was sworn in to serve as the District 4 representative on the Huntington County Council. Shelley Septer succeeds Keiffer as Circuit Court Clerk.

As of Jan. 1, 2019, the following representatives were sworn in to serve their respective positions:

Jill Landrum, County Auditor; Vicki Pearson, County Recorder; Chris Newton, County Sheriff; Jay Poe, County Surveyor; Terri Boone, County Assessor; Rob Miller, District 1 County Commissioner; Todd, Landrum, District 1 County Council; Kendall Mickley, District 2 County Council; Keith Eller, District 3 County Council; Mathew Roth, District 2 HCCSC School Board of Trustees member; Brian Warpup, District 3 HCCSC School Board of Trustees member; Gary McClellan, District 5 HCCSC School Board of Trustees member.