Login NowClose 
Sign In to h-ponline.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

Five Vikings earn All-Conference honors

PASS: Huntington University’s Zach Daugherty makes a pass during the Vikings’ sectional final battle against Homestead.

Staff reports

A pair of Vikings earned First Team All-Northeast 8 Conference honors and five Vikings in total earned All-Conference honors in the team announced this week.

Guard Zach Daugherty and forward Mitchell Geller were both apart of the 10-team First Team All-Conference this season.

Forward Hank Pulver and Sawyer Stoltz were named Second Team while Joe Stoffel earned Honorable Mention.

A maximum of five players per team can be nominated by a coach. Players nominated are voted on by opposing coaches within the conference with the top ten vote-getters making First Team All-Conference.

The second ten vote-getters receive Second Team honors and players receiving votes from two or more schools are named Honorable Mention.

Geller led the team in scoring (10.6), rebounding (6.7) and assists (2.7) this season for the Vikings while shooting 57 percent from the field. Daugherty, meanwhile, poured in 9.7 points per game to along with 3.2 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game.

Daugherty finished the season as the top three-point shooter for Huntington North, connecting on 36 threes at a 39 percent clip.

Stoltz finished second on the team in scoring at 10.2 points per game with 4.6 rebounds and 1.1 blocks per contest. Pulver finished fourth in scoring (9.3), third in rebounds (4.2), second in assists (2.5), second in steals (1.2) and first in blocks (1.3) for the Vikings as a do-it-all forward this season.

Stoffel averaged just 5.7 points per game on the year but hit 27 three-pointers at a rate of 47 percent on the year.

Joining Daugherty and Geller on the First Team are East Noble’s Ali Ali and Hayden Jones, New Haven’s Brecar Clark and James Gardner, Leo’s Jeremy Davison, DeKalb’s Logan Kruse and Columbia City’s Mitchell Wilson.

Earning Second Team honors were Michael Bender and Brent Cox of East Noble, Isaac Brown of DeKalb, Lane Reed and Luke Stoller of Leo, Zach Lathan of New Haven, Kade Fueling of Bellmont and Brandon Nicholson of Norwell.

Blake Davison of Leo, Drew Devers of East Noble, Garrett Roehling of Columbia City, Luke Zeddis of Norwell and Jordan Fueling and Brady Manis of Bellmont all were named Honorable Mention.

East Noble finished unbeaten in the conference this season to capture the crown. New Haven took second at 5-2 while Huntington North and Leo tied for third with 4-3 records.